Inferno! #11


Writer(s)William(Bill) King
MediumPrinted, Magazine
PublisherBlack Library


  • Published by Black Library in March 1999.
  • RePrinted as Classic Inferno! #11 in October 2019.
  • The 4th magazine to include a Gotrek & Felix story.
  • An anthology of stories. From these only Ulric’s Children is a Gotrek & Felix story.
  • Edited by Andy Jones.
  • Page 3 : Contents : Ulric’s Children novella by William King. Of course, Gotrek & Felix(along with William King) are mentioned.
  • Pages 5-16 : Ulric’s Children novella.
  • Page 16 : Illustration(small one) of Gotrek(only) by Wayne England.
  • Back Cover : Felix along with William King are mentioned.
  • Notes :
    • Cover is NOT Gotrek & Felix so the artist is not mentioned.
    • Ulric’s Children novella is included in numerous other (printed and digital) omnibus, collections, bundles, etc. For more details check its tag.
    • Black Library rebooted the title in 2018, so the first ‘run’ was renamed Classic Inferno! #11.
  • In his introduction to the 2013 edition of Trollslayer(Black Library Classics), William King revealed that :
    • He wrote Geheimnisnacht as a one-off story, in 1988, in which Gotrek was meant to die at the end, but later revised it based on his liking for the characters (Gotrek’s fake death in the story was initially written as permanent) . The story led to the commissioning of another by Games Workshop, and then another, which led to Wolf Riders and The Dark Beneath the World.
    • The success of these three stories led to King being commissioned to write a full-length novel, which he approached by writing three novella-length stories in episodic format, which became The Mark of Slaanesh, Blood and Darkness, and Skaven’s Claw.
    • However, Games Workshop Books closed unexpectedly, and the publication of the novel was delayed until 1999, when it also included The Mutant Master and Ulric’s Children, which had previously been published in Inferno! magazine. The novel also added the prefacing excerpts from Felix’s journal.
    • The Mark of Slaanesh and Blood and Darkness were eventually published as part of Trollslayer, while Skaven’s Claw became the first chapter of the subsequent novel Skavenslayer.